

Transportation Safety Board Meeting Minutes

07/15/04

DRAFT

Department of Motor Vehicles Room 702 Chair: Paul Henegar **Recording Secretary:** Audrey Odum Board Paul Henegar (Chair), Gloria Berkley, Alan Druschitz, Bruce Wingo, John Coates, Dee Bowles, Melvin Robertson, John Mazza, Bill Cofer, Lynn Newcomb Bill Selden (Not Present) DMV D.B. Smit, Philip Vasquez, Vince Burgess, Lynne Talley, Staff: Cathy Keith, Audrey Odum, Mary Anne Rayment, Butch Letteer Carl Hewlin **Public:** J. J. Bahen. Jr.

Chair Henegar called meeting to order and thanked everyone for attending. Chair Henegar introduced D.B. Smit, DMV's Commissioner and turned floor over to him.

Commissioner Smit welcomed everyone and praised the Board and TSS Staff for all the great work they do. Commissioner Smit gave update on the new seatbelt usage rate, DUI laws and an overview of changes with the Grants Program.

Chair Henegar asked Vince Burgess to call roll. A quorum was present.

Old Business

Chair Henegar requested the Board review minutes from the May 2004 meeting. Minutes approved with no amendments.

New Business

Vince Burgess provided an overview of crash statistics and financial report.

Lynne Talley provided an update on the grants financial report. Chair Henegar asked Board to review and approve two grants submitted outside the regular grant review. Both grants listed below approved with no amendments:

- FY04 Checkpoint Strikeforce Mini-Grants
- VDOT Application for 154 Hazard Elimination Funds.

Gloria recommended that the grants be approved as submitted. Chair Henegar seconded. Approved with no amendments.

Public Comment

Mr. J. J. Bahen addressed the Board with his concerns regarding use of federal traffic safety funds.

FY05 Highway Safety Grant Review

Vice-Chair Alan Druschitz discussed the activities of the Allocation Committee meeting and mentioned the members of the Committee (Alan Druschitz, Gloria Berkley, Dee Bowles).

Note: The grants manual was sent to Board members prior to meeting for review. As such, Lynne Talley addressed only those grants of which the Board had questions or concerns.

Grant Approvals Changes/Recommendations:

Page 55-56 Norfolk State - John Mazza requested staff to follow-up on grants to track progress of seatbelt usage among the diverse population.

John Mazza made a motion for the State Agencies Category to be approved. Bruce Wingo seconded. <u>State Agencies Category Approved</u>

- Page 119 Giles County -John Mazza recommended that staff closely monitors "Simulator" grants to track their progress.
- Page 131 PIRC Approved with a stipulation on new language being drafted to summarize the projects current scope of work. John Mazza and Bill Cofer to review new language.

John Mazza made a motion for the Non-Profits Category to be approved. Lynn Newcomb seconded. *Non-Profits Category Approved with Provision to #131*

Page 224 Floyd County – Chair Henegar requested Board to consider increase on this grant from \$5,000 to \$7,500. Gloria Berkley made motion that the increase be approved and John Coates seconded. Vice-Chair Alan Druschitz made a motion for the Localities Category to be approved. Chair Henegar seconded. <u>Localities Category Approved</u>

Chair Henegar thanked everyone for their time in reviewing and making recommendations on the

FY05 grants.

Action: Develop strategy by which the Board can more clearly and easily utilize available crash data to determine impact of current and future funding for those localities receiving overtime enforcement funds.

New Business

Chair Henegar mentioned future Board meeting dates:

October 17-19, 2004 VDOT Conference / Roanoke

Meeting Adjourned